22.6.21

Conway fired up for Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen

Mike Conway is looking forward to reuniting with the Action Express Racing team for this weekend’s Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen endurance race, at Watkins Glen International, New York.

The IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship returns to the Watkins Glen circuit for the first time since 2019, after the six-hour race was called off in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

At the 2019 event, Mike raced to a hard-fought sixth place in the DPi class. In the 2021 IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup, Mike and his #31 Whelen Engineering Racing team mates, Felipe Nasr and Pipo Derani, have so far claimed a stunning victory in the Pole Position race at the Daytona 24 Hours and looked set for two strong results in both the 24-hour event and the 12 Hours of Sebring until cruel luck denied their efforts.

Watkins Glen has a rich motor racing history, hosting the Formula One United States Grand Prix for 20 years from 1961-1980 as well as NASCAR, IndyCar and IMSA. The 3.4-mile circuit offers a rollercoaster ride for drivers with a fast, flowing and undulating layout consisting of 11 corners. With unforgiving barriers never far away, drivers can find themselves punished for even the smallest mistake.

The track action begins on Friday with the opening Free Practice session of the weekend at 16:20 ET (21:20 BST). A busy Saturday will see the team make use of a second and final Free Practice session at 08:00 ET (13:00 BST) before the all-important Qualifying session takes place from 11:50 ET (16:50 BST). The green flag will drop for the six-hour race at 10:40 ET (15:40 BST) on Sunday.

Viewers outside the US will be able to enjoy live and uninterrupted flag-to-flag coverage of the race via the IMSA.com website.

“I’m looking forward to getting back in the Cadillac with Action Express Racing,” Mike said. “We’ve had a long break since Sebring so I’m itching to get the weekend started. Our speed and performance has been really good so far this season but we just haven’t had the luck on our side to get the results we know we’re capable of. I enjoy Watkins Glen so much, it’s a real racer’s circuit that keeps you on the edge of your seat and requires a hyper focus to get the most out of it. Between myself, Felipe and Pipo, I’m confident we’ll have a positive weekend with a good result to come at the end of it.”

Latest News

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Built by Childsey with climate positive web hosting. In association with MBPartners